Databases A-CDatabases D-GDatabases H-NDatabases O-Z
This is the "A-Z Database List" page of the "A-Z Database List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A-Z Database List   Tags: database articles  

A database is simply several journals grouped together by general subject, or time period. They are listed by name A-Z, or by subject. If you want general information try searching our General Database Tab.
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://assumption.libguides.com/content.php?pid=270104 Print Guide RSS Updates

A-Z Database List Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Oxford English Dictionary

Search Oxford English Dictionary

More!

For more on understanding how to search databases, see the Journal Articles (Database) page on our Basic Research Guide. 

For more on understanding scholarly and popular journals, see the Scholarly v. Popular page on our Basic Research Guide.

      
     

    Databases A-Z

    A-C     D-G     H-N     O-Z

    A

    • ABI/INFORM Complete (Legacy Platform)
      A comprehensive business database that offers articles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes coverage of companies and business trends around the world.
    • Academic OneFile
      A general academic database with a majority of the articles in full text. Contains podcasts and transcripts
      from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content to 1995.
    • Academic Search Premier
      Provides full text for nearly 3,970 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
    • Accounting & Tax Database (Legacy Platform)
      A research database containing key resources covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
    • AGRICOLA
      The National Agricultural Library.
    • American Chemical Society Web Editions
      Full-text journals covering all aspects of chemistry from the American Chemical Society. Search by keyword or browse by title or subject area.
    • American Society for Microbiology
      Covers a selection of journals in the field of basic and clinical microbiology. Archives and current issues available.
    • Art Index
      Indexes over 400 leading art publications from around the world from 1949 to the present.
    • ARTstor
      A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
    • ATLA Religion
      American Theological Library Association literature on religion from 650 journals and other sources.

    B

    • Biblical Archaeology Society
      Access to Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeology Odyssey.
    • Bibliography of the History of Art
      A bibliography of articles about European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
    • Biography in Context
    • BioMedCentral Open Access
      BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 252 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals which span all areas of biology and medicine.
    • Boston Globe
      Coverage from 1980 to current, with full-text articles published from 1997 to current.
    • Brepols Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
      A full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe, together with the Latin works of the Continental ‘perigrini’, from the period 400-1200 A.D.
      (Only three concurrent users are permitted. Please click 'Log-Out' at the top of the screen when finished.)
    • Brepols Cross Database Searchtool
      Library of Latin Texts – Series A and Series B are searchable simultaneously with other brepols full-texts databases (namely the Monumenta Germaniae Historica, the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature.
      (Only three concurrent users are permitted. Please click 'Log-Out' at the top of the screen when finished.)
    • Business Insights: Global
    • Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
      Includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and links to more than 130,000 selected websites.

    C

    • Cabell's Directory - Business Set
    • Checkpoint
      Online information used by tax and accounting professionals to find the answers to their accounting questions. (Ignore warning about Untrusted Connection or Problem With This Website's Security Certificate. Click link for I Understand The Risks or Continue To This Website to access the database.)
    • Choice Reviews Online (CRO)
    • Chronicle of Higher Education
      Provides news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
    • Chronicling America (Historic Newspapers)
      Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
    • Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
      An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors selected from the printed edition of Contemporary Literary Criticism.
    • CQ Researcher
      These single-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issuess on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
      (Only a limited number of users are permitted at a time. Please click 'Log Out' when finished.)
    • Credo Reference
      Over 100 searchable and browsable reference books from a collection of the world's leading publishers.
    • Criminal Justice Collection

    E

    G

    • General Business File ASAP
      A database of business related periodicals and other resources, many in full text.
    • General OneFile
      A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles. Updated daily.
    • General Reference Center Gold
      General interest database of articles, many in full text, from periodicals and reference books.
    • Global Issues In Context
      Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics that are related to these broader issues.
    • Google Scholar
      Google Scholar allows you to cross search scholarly literature across many disciplines.
    • GreenFILE
      Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
    • Guide to Reference

    H

    • Health & Wellness Resource Center
      A comprehensive consumer health resource providing accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues.
    • Health Reference Center Academic  
        
      Database of articles including some full text on various topics.
    • Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
      Contains journal article citations from 1970 to the present about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. 80% will link to full text. Has articles in English, Spanish, and Portuguese languages. Can limit to any one language in the "advanced" screen.
    • Historical New York Times
      The New York Times 1851-2003 is an electronic database to articles published in The New York Times from 1851-2003.
    • Hoover's Company Records (Legacy Platform)
      Look here for company research, including key executives, financial data, competitors, company data, and history.

    I

    • In the First Person
      Personal narratives- the most comprehensive archive of social memory. Covers many topics including historical events and people from World War I and II to popular culture, music to medicine, Hitler to John Wayne, gay rights to September 11th.
    • InfoTrac Junior Edition
      Designed for junior high and middle school students. Access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books.
    • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
      A bibliography of articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

    J

    K

    • Kids InfoBits
      A database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
    • Knovel Library
      Provides a one-stop source for finding answers to science, engineering, and math questions. Contains nine full text handbooks with formulas, tables and graphs.

    L

    • LexisNexis Academic (selected full-text only)
    • Library of Latin Texts - A (LLT-A)
      More than 3,200 latin texts from Antiquity to the twentieth century
      Each text benefits from intensive research work. Use with LLT-B.

      Contains a diverse range of Latin works from Antiquity, the Church fathers, the medieval period and the modern period.
      (Only three concurrent users are permitted. Please click 'Log-Out' at the top of the screen when finished.)
    • Library of Latin Texts - B (LLT-B)
      A complementary but faster growing database to LLT-A.
      Texts taken directly from existing editions; Doesn't include texts from LLT-A.
      About 300 texts already available.
      Latin texts of all genres and all periods; very diverse, and include genres as varied as chronicles, medieval saints’ lives and travel narratives, legal texts, and theological, philosophical and scientific treatises from the early-modern period. Above all, the emphasis is on the online availability of large corpora of texts.
      (Only three concurrent users are permitted. Please click 'Log-Out' at the top of the screen when finished.)
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
      This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
    • Literature Criticism Online (2008--current year)
      Includes 2008 - current year:
      Contemporary Criticism
      Poetry Criticism
      Shakespearean Criticism
      Short Story criticism
      Twentieth Century Criticism
      *See physical reference shelf for prior years
    • Literature Resource Center
      Find biographical information, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and around the world.

    M

    • MarketLine Advantage
      Detailed company profiles, include SWOT analyses, industry profiles (global and US profiles), and country profiles that provide analysis of the country's political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental structure. Investigate new markets, assess product growth potential, understand competitive forces, research and compare historical trends, identify the fastest growing or largest market.
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition
      Designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for more than 700 popular, high school magazines
    • Massachusetts History Online
      Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history.
    • Medline
      A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It covers 3,300 major journals across 100 scientific disciplines. It indexes every article and significant item including letters, notes, corrections and editorials - in every publication they fully cover. More than 600,000 new items are indexed each year.
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook
      Contains full text information about English-language standardized tests and also contains test reviews. This is the online version of the printed volumes.
      (Only one user is permitted at a time. Please click 'Logout' when finished.)
    • MLA International Bibliography
      Modern Language Association's index to international scholarly materials on literature. Citations are from nearly 4,400 journals, plus relevant books and other formats.
    • Monumenta Germaniae Historica
      Comprehensive series of carefully edited and published primary sources, both chronicle and archival, for the study of German history (broadly conceived) from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500.
      (Only three concurrent users are permitted. Please click 'Log-Out' at the top of the screen when finished.)

    N

    • Historical New York Times
      The New York Times 1851-2003 is an electronic database to articles published in The New York Times from 1851-2003.
    • Naxos Music Library
      An online library of musical recordings from the catalog of the Naxos Label.
      (Only three concurrent users are permitted. Please click 'Log-Out' at the top of the screen when finished.)
    • Newspapers
      A link to a guide for all newspapers available.
    • Nursing & Allied Health Collection
      Over 6 million articles that will meet the needs of researchers at all levels of nursing in all specialties.

    O

    P

    • Patrologia Latina Database
      The Patrologia Latina covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to Pope Innocent III in 1216. In 221 volumes it covers most major and minor Latin authors and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature. The works of a variety of figures are included - Hilary, Ambrose, Jerome, Boethius, Isidore, Bede, Peter Damian, Bernard, Augustine, Peter Lombard and Peter Chrysologus amongst hundreds of others.

      The Patrologia Latina Database is the full-text electronic version of the Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Illustrations are also included, as are Migne's (Jacques-Paul Migne, the 19th century priest from Paris) column numbers.
    • Peace Research Abstracts
      Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
    • Philosopher's Index
      Provides abstracts of books and journals in philosophy.
    • Primary Search
      Provides full text for nearly 70 popular magazines for elementary school research.
    • Project Muse - Standard Collection
      A database of over 100 full text scholarly journals mainly within the past five years.
    • PsycARTICLES
      Find full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
    • PsycINFO 1887-Current
      Comprehensive international coverage of scholarly literature in psychology. Includes articles from more than 1300 periodicals in over 25 languages.
    • PubChem
      Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Includes individual databases on Compounds, Substances, and BioAssays.
    • PubMed
      Comprehensive index to articles in the field of medicine.

    R

    S

    T

    • Teacher Reference Center
      For educators and librarians. Covers assessment, best practices, continuing education, curriculum development, etc.

    U

    W

    • Wall Street Journal
      Searches 1984- present editions of the WSJ online. It contains only text. We have the current WSJ issues in the Newspaper area of the Library.
    • Web of Knowledge
      A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.
    • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
      Includes tens of thousands of primary documents, document projects with introductory essays that interpret the documents, a definitive bibliography, related web links, a Dictionary of Social Movements, and an enormous collection of images.
    • World History In Context
      Covers information on the most significant people, events, and topics in world history. Includes magazine, journal and news articles, as well as primary source documents, images, videos, and audio files.
    • WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
      A catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip